March for Free Education

Hello everyone!

I know I haven’t posted in a while, but being a college student in  April is probably one of the most stressful times of my life. My blog has been written with no restrictions since I started, but, my professor wants us to make a post using only pictures to convey a story to my audience. Since I’m writing a political blog, this is a little harder to do, but hopefully you enjoy what I came up with.

Two days ago, on April 13, 2016, a group of students held a march for free education here at Texas State. This is a perfect example of a peaceful protest used to get ones message across to the masses. I had a lot of fun hearing what these people had to say and witnessing first hand how these demonstrations happen. Hope you all enjoy the pictures! God bless, and see you soon.

 

image2
Students started their protest at the Vaquero statue on campus, in front of Old Main. 
image2-3
One protestor takes a jab at Texas State’s President Denise Trauth about the student debt crisis.
image2-2
As protestors rally, Texas State’s very own “Donald Trump” dances and waves his sign in an attempt to bring attention to the organized protest. 
attachment.ashx
As children visiting the university pass by, “Donald Trump” tells them to “keep capitalism alive,” and “think before you come to college.” 
image1-4
The march finally begins, taking a path down towards the Texas State quad. 
image1-3
As the journey through the quad continues, protestors shout, “College is for education, not for private corporations.” 
image1
“Show me what Democracy looks like? This is what Democracy looks like.” 
image3
The protest makes its way past the quad and into the Alkek Library before taking a close. Student chant “Banks got bailed out, students got sold out.” 

So there it is everyone. Like I said, I had a great time covering this and I got to hear a lot of interesting ideas from students. I hope the pictures truly represent exactly what can, and does happen on a college campus very frequently.

And remember, always stay involved in the politics and movements that go on all around us. Until next time, cheers!

Leave a Reply

