I voted! My first experience

Today is Super Tuesday and for the first time in my life I was able to participate in the most important practice a U.S. citizen can do. After almost eight years of patiently waiting, at the age of 20, I finally got the opportunity to vote in a Presidential election.

For those wondering what Super Tuesday is, I’ll link an extremely good article explaining exactly what goes on during this historic day. But for now, let me share with you my experience.

I can vividly remember Obama being elected back in 2008. My family was gathered around in the living room watching the news, patiently waiting for the big moment where the next president of the United States would be elected. From that moment, at 12 years old, I knew I wanted to vote one day and influence who is elected to run this country.

Today was an experience I know I’ll never forget. After I chose my candidates for the President and for local political offices, I ran my fingers over the “cast ballot” icon and thought to myself: “this is the moment you’ve been waiting for.” As I filled out my ballot in the little electronic cubical at the elementary school I was voting in today, I couldn’t help but smile. Once I walked out of the room I put on my “I voted” sticker right above my chest, and felt a wave of confidence over me.

This was the moment I’ve dreamed of for so long, and it was finally becoming a reality. As a college student I couldn’t feel more proud of myself. Voting shows maturity and responsibility as a citizen. I’ve always been a firm believer that if you do not get involved with public policy in this country, you don’t have the right to complain about the laws and policies implemented by our government.

image1-4Being able to vote on Super Tuesday, especially in the state of Texas, is a big deal. I will be following up with a post about the results tonight. In the meantime, I hope you all went out and voted! There are millions of people around the world who dream of coming to the United States, so let us not take advantage of the beautiful representative democracy we live in.

Leave a Reply

